Addy’s 7th Birthday

It is so cliche to say that time flies, but sometimes it is the only phrase that comes to mind. My oldest child, Addy, is 7 years old and it is amazing how much a little person can change in that amount of time.

This angel is my kindred spirit in so many ways, and challenges me at every turn. I told her the other day that she is teaching me how to be a mommy. I still have an incredible journey ahead of me, but we are making headway with lightning speed. The last 7 years has been full of excitement. The two of us learning how to work together is interesting enough, but Addy has followed us to 35 States, Canada and moved to another continent.

Addy is blessed with good health, a quick mind and lofty ambitions. I feel insecure sometimes that I am not doing or being enough for my children, but my husband is quick to defend me to me and I rest in my faith that Jesus will fill in the gaps they need. She and I are are trying to make the most of this short time-frame called childhood, singing, baking, cooking, sewing, crafting, hiking and cuddling.

Here are a few pictures of the birthday girl!

img_6882

Of all the hobbbies and titles this little one enjoys, I think ‘Big Sister’ is a favorite!

The bottom photo Addy is rehearsing for my brother’s wedding, she was a very eager flower girl for a 1 year old!

5 thoughts on “Addy’s 7th Birthday

  1. What an adorable and special girl she is! Thank you for sharing. By the way, no need for you to feel insecure or inadequate (most of us mothers do feel that way though lol). You have always been a great mother and it shows in your children. You and Jeff are awesome parents and great role models. I know God will use all of you mightily, including your children. If God taries, I can see Addy doing something amazing, like finding cures for diseases or something :) I still remember her at about 4 naming off lots of bones from Erin’s college anatomy book lol! Love and miss all of you.

Any thoughts?

