Cumberless Cucumber Salad

A cheesy name, huh? I thought it up all myself too. Jeff and I went to a new restaurant a few months ago and they served a cucumber side dish that I just had to recreate at home. It was so easy that I’ve made it every week since.

I am going to share a formula with you that isn’t a recipe. Don’t worry; that’s because you cannot mess it up. I know a lot of people who will not try to make something without explicit directions, but you don’t need that with this formula and that’s part of why I love it so much.

13566122_631672232548_907340749_n

The core is simple: Cucumbers, vinegar, oil, salt and pepper.

To it you may also add sliced onion, cherry tomatoes, diced tomatoes, olives, mozzarella, feta, Parmesan, a variety of seasonings, and I bet even squash and zucchini would be great. I think I will try roasted sunflower seeds next time.

I typically use cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, a thinly sliced onion, and Italian dressing seasoning packets. They don’t sell the packets here in South Africa, so I premix it and use a tablespoon of that. Seasoning salt is great on it and saves time. I add about two tablespoons of each oil and vinegar (any liquid oil will do avocado oil is cheaper so I use that most, apple cider vinegar is also good but I prefer balsamic) to four cups of diced cukes and about 1/2 cup of tomato. Refrigerating it for an hour before serving is nice and soaks the seasoning well, but its also good to serve right away.

Mozzarella cheese brings the price up a bit, but it also doesn’t keep as well the next day. So I don’t use it unless we have company over. Otherwise I make this salad enough to last four or five days and we eat it all the time now. Its a good fit for us because we are not a salad eating family, but we love vegetables.

If you try it and add anything I haven’t mentioned let me know!

Any thoughts?

