Homemade Baked Chicken Nuggets

After several dozen nut butter and honey sandwiches, I wanted another lunch item on the rotation. I have never been one to buy frozen food, but when I asked my sweet husband for lunch ideas, he suggested frozen chicken nuggets. And the light came on! I would make my own frozen nuggets. After a bit of experimenting, I will share my favorite recipe with you and you can store these in the freezer for an easy lunch on any day.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Ingredients

*Chicken pieces – raw, cut into strips or nuggets, I use the breast only
*Bread crumbs
*Seasonings (I use parsley, mineral rich salt, pepper, paprika, onion powder, and garlic powder)
*egg wash (egg and milk in about a 1:1 ratio mixed well but it’s not an exact science)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. Coat chicken by dipping in egg wash and then bread crumbs (coat twice for extra crisp)
3. Bake for about 15 minutes until cooked through to 165 degrees.
* Try not to eat them all before they cool so you can store them in the freezer for other lunches :)
* To reheat, preheat the oven to 400 and bake until crispy 12-15 minutes, turning once

The variations you could make are endless, you could halve the crumbs with flour, add in some Parmesan cheese and any combination of seasonings. I began cutting them in strips with my kitchen shears and it saves me time. I usually have several rotations to put in the oven to last me several weeks. We will eat this once a week for lunch, and it breaks the monotony of kid lunches for stay at home families.

You want to make a super organic version? Use organic or local chicken breast, make your own bread crumbs with dried homemade (even gluten-free) bread and use eggs from free range local chicken and the milk your family is most comfortable using.

Want to save a little time? Buy some pre-seasoned breadcrumbs and pre-cut chicken (like tenderloins, but adjust cooking time). Making it as a meal at lunch and dinner also saves some work.

Now I am on a search for the perfect homemade dipping sauce, have a recipe you suggest?

Any thoughts?

