Last Minute Dinner Bread

I am pretty good about making lists and doing what I need to do at the times I plan to do them…..most of the time. But with children, you never know what is going to happen. My typical time to start my bread machine for dinner is 3. It takes an hour and a half to make dough, and I pull it out, shape it and let it rise and bake it for dinner. Well, on Thursday, that just did not happen and it was just an hour before dinner. But we were having pot roast and we just *had* to have fresh, warm bread to go with it :).

So I did what every reasonable 20 something would do and I scoured Pinterest :). And I found one that I love! I love it so much I may actually make this even when I do have time.

2 ½ C warm water
6 Tbsp sugar (I used half sugar half honey but use only honey for pizza dough)
3 Tbsp yeast
2 Tbsp oil
6 C flour (can use white or wholemeal)
2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

Stir water, yeast, sugar and oil together. Leave for 5 minutes until it becomes frothy on top. Add flour, salt and baking powder. Mix well. Knead. Roll out if making a pizza base or shape for use as buns / bread / loaf. Paint with oil or milk (if you can be bothered). Bake at 200C or 400 F for 10-15 minutes for rolls or pizza and 20-35 for large loaf.

*I made one extra large loaf, but next time, I will double the recipe and make three normal sized loaves. I would be nice to only do the “work” once and have two loaves of yummy baked bread in the freezer.

I used bread flour and placed a pan of water in the oven to make the crust nice and crusty, and it was so good warm with butter spread over it, that my dinner was almost cold by the time I got to it.

For lunch the next day, I toasted two pieces and ate it with my broccoli cheese soup, and again, it stole the show :)

 

Any thoughts?

