Dear Mom,

When I was 10, I knew all about this parenting business. I always thought my mother was amazing, but there were a few things I was going to do differently. My parenting vows as a 10 year old:

  1. I am not going to serve my children silly things like peanut butter and jelly, or pizza bread.
  2. I am not going to make my children miss out on movies and activities the ‘other’ kids get to enjoy.
  3. No bedtimes in my future house. Bed times are silly, why not just wait until you are tired?
  4. I am going to enjoy every second of meaningful conversation from my children. After all, children have very important things to talk about and valuable insight to offer.
  5. I will not cry over silly things. Seriously, it’s just kindergarten, what’s the big deal?
  6. I am going to trust my future children with issues concerning moderation. We know how much cake we can eat without getting sick.
  7. I will not humiliate my children by being over involved. Cake for the class for every birthday? Embarrassing. Being the only parent to show up for in school field trips? No way.
  8. No excessive excitement over milestones. Calling Auntie over my first crush was a bit overboard.
  9. No forced hugs or kisses. Really. I will love my kids, but won’t need to hug them all the time to show them.
  10. Big sisters know how to keep charge. I will trust my oldest to handle sibling disputes. Older children know how to handle things.

Haha!

Mom, I just wanted you to know that I made pizza bread yesterday.

20131118-103810.jpg

3 thoughts on “Dear Mom,

Any thoughts?

