Summer Crafts ~ Paper Mache

I am getting a tad behind in posting! I keep documenting and writing bits here and there to post and have not finished anything yet! I am just going to share this quick post about our craft of the day and continue writing my other posts! I could blame my lack of energy on the fact that I am STILL pregnant! 5 days past my due date, and the not-yet-named baby girl is welcome any time now.

There is something I am planning on working on in the future, but it requires a bit of paper mache, so I thought I would practice during some craft times with the kids. One day we made a bowl for daddy, and today we did an overlay on a shoebox to turn it into a gift box.

Our recipe was a simple 1:1 ratio of white Elmer’s glue to water.

I let the kids ‘paint’ the glue on with paintbrushes. For the bowl we made I covered a bowl with regular plastic wrap and painted a layer of glue on and added several layers of ripped construction paper on top, gluing between each layer with a final layer of glue on top. When it was dry we removed it from the saran wrap and had a little bowl to give daddy for his pocket change.

20130718-203556.jpg

20130718-203606.jpg

Image

Ripping paper is def my son’s favorite part, while putting the ‘paint’ and pictures in place is an art for my daughter.

Adelle picked a special picture for the front

Adelle picked a special picture for the front

IMG_3298

IMG_3303

Have you ever tried paper mache? lt is a handy little crafting skill we will certainly use again :)

3 thoughts on “Summer Crafts ~ Paper Mache

  1. Pingback: crafts with kids | Artsy Wanderer

  2. That looks like such a fun activity for preschoolers! Never would have thought to do a little lidded-box! Great work, overdue mama! ;)

Any thoughts?

