Streusel Oatmeal

I semi-recently shared a recipe for Chocolate Covered Banana Baked Oatmeal. I have started to eat oatmeal because of the health benefits and because it is supposed to be a nursing super food and I plan on having a baby soon!!

My daughter prefers silly faces to smiling in the morning :)

My daughter prefers silly faces to smiling in the morning :)

My kids and I have been eating it almost every day with tons of different variations but I would like to share my absolute favorite variation with you! It is like having desert for breakfast, but still has less sugar than store bought cereal, and no preservatives.

20130619-064645.jpg

Streusel Oatmeal – Makes 2-3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups of milk of your choice but I use Whole
  • 1.5 cups of quick cooking oats
  • pinch of salt
  • Brown sugar to taste
  • Cinnamon
  • Butter
  • Nuts – I prefer pecans, but I’m from FL :)

Directions:

  • Bring milk to a boil, I stir it a bit to prevent the milk from burning to the pan.
  • Add the oats and a pinch of salt when it begins to boil
  • Boil 1.5-2 mins, stirring occasionally
  • I let it rest for a minute or two after I remove it from the heat to let it thicken
  • Top each serving with a slice of butter, a spoonful or two of brown sugar, cinnamon and chopped nuts.

This is probably not a new idea to someone who makes oatmeal often, but if making oatmeal is new to you I would suggest you try and experiment with it! It only dirties one pan and only takes a few minutes to make and is pretty healthy overall. I had to make it several times before it was edible, but I learned that making it with milk makes all the difference! What is your favorite oatmeal add ins?

Even a picky eater will eat something with a spoonful of brown sugar....right? Letting the kids put their own cinnamon makes it extra special :)

Even a picky eater will eat something with a spoonful of brown sugar….right? Letting the kids put their own cinnamon makes it extra special :)

One thought on “Streusel Oatmeal

Any thoughts?

