Doula Training

The baby of the first birth I attended.

The baby of the first birth I attended.

I do hope everyone has had a WONDERFUL weekend! I have been a bit absent from the blogging world for a few reasons, but I’ll spare you the details. Suffice it to say, I think I will be altering my schedule :) I am excited to share that I am now a DONA trained labor doula!!

A doula is a non-medical birth attendant who is knowledgeable in the stages and progression of normal labor and are skilled to help a laboring mom achieve her birth plan. I absolutely love every study about labor, delivery, breastfeeding and newborn care.

The DONA workshops in breastfeeding, l&d, and newborn care have made me a bit more qualified to attend to “normal” needs in those categories. I have been doing my own research since having my first child (a little over three years ago), but was amazed at how much more there was to learn!

I am expanding my research beyond the realm of the internet, and am reading many books on the topics and plan to attend any birth I can be a blessing in. If at all possible (and affordable) I’d also love to take more childbirth educator classes and seminars and breastfeeding consultant courses.

I am a wife, mommy, and missionary, but this is also something I have found a passion in and although I never plan on pursuing a career, I believe that God can use my desires to be a blessing to pregnant, laboring, nursing and new mommies anywhere in the world God puts me.

I have a TON to blog about, and despite my best intentions, I usually post as I go along, but I think I will be better about post-publishing posts to be a bit more faithful and have more time to stay connected with your posts as well! I am pretty sure its been about a month since I have been able to post or read blogs, if I missed anything important to you, post a link in the comments, I want to know what’s been going on ;)

Any thoughts?

