Kale Chips! Yum! (Who knew?)

Kale

Kale (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

“Mommy, more kale please!!” Now who wouldn’t want to hear their one year old say that?! I’m not joking, he REALLY wanted more kale! I had a slightly lower iron level than my midwife would have desired at my last appointment, so I’ve upped my kale and pumpkin seed intake, and finally got around to trying these chips that have been recommended for weeks by several different people.

 

Ingredients:
Fresh kale, whole leaves or shredded, about 5 whole leaves worth
1-2 tbsp olive oil
Seasoning salt

 

Directions:
Drizzles olive oil on kale
Sprinkle seasoning salt
Bake at 350 for 10-15 mins

 

I now use a ziplock bag to coat the oil evenly. The first time I made it I drizzled it and there was a bit much oil, it tasted amazing, but I’m learning to be moderate so I adjusted :) The seasoning salt also goes a long way, so you don’t have to add much and not worry about sodium intake. This makes a great substitute for chips. Or so I’m told, I don’t eat chips unless I make them myself anyway (I should share that tortilla chip recipe, its amazing!).

 

Do you have any healthy snack alternatives to share? I’m no longer hesitant to try new things :)

 

20130419-123315.jpg

 

11 thoughts on “Kale Chips! Yum! (Who knew?)

Any thoughts?

