Childhood Creativity

Does it ever amaze you how creative children are? I do not have pictures from most of the times that they have amazed me with their creativity, but I do have some.
My son, JJ, has amazed me most (recently) with his interest in music. He can sing lines from almost 10 different songs, and sometimes randomly sings to communicate, but that is not something one can capture on a picture.
My daughter, Adelle, has astounded me with her ability to write, draw and paint. She has also developed a knack for making up rules and games, typical big sister ;)
Here are just a few pics (some rather old) of my children enjoying creativity. What has amazed you most about children and creativity? What ages were your children the most creative? What ways did you find best to encourage creativity?

Using nature as embellishment

Using nature as embellishment

Wingsaseagles40
Making their own beds during playtime

Making their own beds during playtime

I painted the truck with the color she mixed to be brown on purpose, and showed her how to make the leaves, she did all but like 6 strokes all by herself!

I painted the trunk with the color she mixed to be brown on purpose, and showed her how to make the leaves, she did all but like 6 strokes all by herself!

They invited a guest a piece to a birthday party. It was planned, thrown and enjoyed completely without parental interference.

They invited a guest a piece to a birthday party. It was planned, thrown and enjoyed completely without parental interference.

Made her own spot to watch a family movie. She does not have a doll baby bed, but often empties and uses baskets for her dolls as well.

Made her own spot to watch a family movie. She does not have a doll baby bed, but often empties and uses baskets for her dolls as well.

Adelle is really good at making up stories, you would think she was actually reading a book sometimes.

Adelle is really good at making up stories, you would think she was actually reading a book sometimes.

Bud likes to paint with bubbles

Bud likes to paint with bubbles

When Adelle first started writing letters. I had only taught her the A at this point. She is 2.5 here.

When Adelle first started writing letters. I had only taught her the A at this point. She is 2.5 here.

5 thoughts on “Childhood Creativity

  1. Yes! Children are so creative. They are like little explorers and scientists constantly conducting experiments. Each day they do something better and learn and do something different. It’s a joy to watch and be a part of.

  2. I love that photo of her in the laundry basket! :D Children are so amazing, aren’t they? I have enjoyed seeing my son build things, explore and do other science-y stuff! My daughter has knocked me out with her ability to create stories and books; she is a writer through and through! Samuel’s talent is yet to be discovered, but I know it won’t be long! ;)

Any thoughts?

