Slow Cooker Pot Roast

20130409-130538.jpg

I have decided to write a post every Tuesday with a recipe, a fun educational activity on Thursdays and a KidVersation on Fridays, and I’m late with today’s post! I have a LONG list of each post category and I have a TON of posts to write on other topics as well! I LOVE blogging, and learning more about my new blogging friends and sharing experiences together.

Today’s recipe is one of my absolute favorite things to eat, POT ROAST!

I have to be honest, I usually just buy a seasoning packet, but since I have been on a mission to make food without preservatives and unknown ingredients I thought I’d finally try to make it 100% myself. And….who doesn’t want to save that extra dollar ;)

Pot Roast Ingredients

  • 2-3 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 TBSP Beef base
  • Kosher salt
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced from root to tip
  • 3-4 cup of potatoes, cubed
  • 1-1 1/2 cups of carrot, baby or sliced about 1 inch thick
  • 1 can of coke or sprite (can also sub this and base for 16 oz of beef broth) (I usually prefer Coke, but only had Sprite on hand and it worked just fine)
  • 3 TBSP Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 Chuck Roast 3-4 lbs

Directions

  • Heat the Olive oil in a skillet until warm
  • Rub the outside of your pot roast with kosher salt, be a little generous. I used a tiny handful.
  • Brown the roast on one side. Do not move it or mess with it for even browning.
  • Brown the second side of roast. Browning the beef gives the meat better texture and deeper flavor. This was my first time browning it, and I will not ever skip this step again.
  • Place Roast in Crock pot and quickly add veggies and garlic to hot pan and brown them lightly.
  • Place browned veggies and any juice from pan on top of roast in crock pot.
  • Whisk corn starch and base with liquid and add the liquid and remaining ingredients to crock pot.
  • Cook on high for 3-4 hours, and low about 6 hours.
  • Remove Bay Leaf before serving

This turned out AMAZING! We had some friends over the night I made this and we all ate a TON! There were no leftovers for sure, and its good there wasn’t more or we would have eaten that as well. I made some Italian spiced bread to go with it, and steamed some fresh green beans tossed in butter and kosher salt.

Let’s just say….I’m never buying that pot roast seasoning packet again :)

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Yes, I used a pot cover. I do not typically waste money, but I was planning on attending a birth that night and did not want to come home to a dirty pan :)

 

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Pot Roast

    • Yes, it was a great day :). I wish I took a picture of the finished meal, the only reason I took the other photos was for when I make it again. It’s how I remember recipes I throw together…

Any thoughts?

