Chocolate Covered Banana Baked Oatmeal

My family had the wonderful opportunity to stay with a family of 9 during a conference in Michigan last week. The mother of the household made wonderful, healthy, hearty meals to feed her children. I was just a little envious of her system of cooking and meal scheduling, it seemed to flow much better than mind.. One morning she made baked oatmeal. I am ashamed to admit, I had never had baked oatmeal before! My slow cooked and stove top oatmeal never seems to go well, but her tastey breakfast made me want to give baked oatmeal a try.

After reading several different recipes, this is the recipe I came up with for my family, and let me tell you, my children LOVED it and each at two decent servings. The result tasted like chocolate covered bananas, who doesn’t like that?!

Chocolate Covered Banana Baked Oatmeal

1 cup of milk
2 eggs
2 mashed bananas
1/4 cup of sugar *optional
3 Tbs butter (I used unsalted) *optional
1.5 tsp vanilla extract

1.5 cups of old fashioned oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 to 1/2 cup of cocoa powder *to your taste, I prefer the half cup

Preheat oven to 350
Lightly oil pan (I used about a tsp of coconut oil on a paper towel)
Mix top list of ingredients
Mix in dry ingredients
Top with chocolate chips if desired (and I desired :)
Bake 25 mins
Cool five minutes

20130317-084412.jpg

20130317-084423.jpg

Yes, I served breakfast on paper plates :) we are packed and ready to drive this mornings no time for dishes!! :)

20130317-084858.jpg

One thought on “Chocolate Covered Banana Baked Oatmeal

Any thoughts?

