Apple Butter

This was breakfast this morning! Loved it :)

I was visiting with my mother yesterday, and she pulled out a bag of apples, “These are starting to get bruised, could you toss these for me?”

Toss perfectly good apples? I think not! So I put my sister to work peeling apples while I gathered ingredients for Apple Butter. Here is the recipe we used:

12-15 small/medium apples, randomly assorted, peeled, cored and diced

3/4 cup sugar

3-4 TBSP Real Maple Syrup (You could just use 3/4 packed brown sugar but I couldn’t find any in her kitchen, or Molasses to make some as the recipe here)

2/3 cup of water

1/2 tsp cloves

2 TBSP Cinnamon

1 tsp Vanilla

*Combine all ingredients in a crock pot for 10-12 hours on high.  It it technically spiced applesauce after 3 hours, and it is not finished until it looks like a dark red/brown paste in the crock pot :)

This was exactly as I thought Apple Butter should taste.  If the batch you make will last you more than 6 weeks, I suggest freezing a portion of it so you don’t waste any.

 

2 thoughts on “Apple Butter

Any thoughts?

