Snow Day!

We had a meeting on Sunday in VA, and when we were informed of the hurricane, we decided to leave to our next destination right away. So here we are in TN, in a tiny hotel with no where to be, and nothing to do. The McD’s in town does not even have a play place. Thankfully, this tiny town has a Walmart and I could pick up some essentials, but I also stopped by the craft section (seriously, it called out to me ;) and decided to buy some finger paint. Crazy me, I know, the hotel room only has about 9 square feet that is not carpeted. But I bought finger paint nonetheless.

It was not until I started to get the supplies ready, that I realized that the tub is the ideal place for finger painting. Both my one and two-year old loved it! They both mainly insisted on using the paint brushes, but when I encouraged them to feel it and play with it they began to paint on themselves…and all over the walls of the tub!

The activity helped my two-year-old understand how to mix colors (purple is her fav :) to get secondary colors.  I intentionally only gave them primary colors.  We had 2 sessions of painting today, and tomorrow I’ll bring out the other colors since the primary colors have been demolished.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you have any rainy day ideas for a hotel room?

7 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. What fun! Shaving cream is also fun in the tub, as are ice cubes. :D Welcome to the south!! Sorry you’re stuck, though. ;) Where do you live?

    • Yes, I guess I was not telling the whole truth when I said we were staying in a hotel. We are actually staying in a motel, a hotel would have much much more convenient cause I’d let them walk the halls.

Any thoughts?

