57 Cent Sandwich bread

I have gone off and on between making my own sandwich bread and just buying it. Warm, fresh homemade bread is irresistible and inexpensive, but is it worth the hassle?

Yes!…..If you have a bread machine. Mine turned out perfect, but instead of baking the bread in the machine I used the dough cycle and baked it in my oven. Here is the recipe I have been using. I have made three loaves in the last 24 hours.

1 Cup warm water (100-115 degrees)

2 3/4 cups of flour (I used all white but you could do half whole wheat flour)

2 TBSP powdered milk

2 TBSP sugar

1 tsp salt

2 tsp active dry yeast

*Place ingredients in the bread machine according to machine’s manufacturer’s directions and use the dough cycle

*Place dough on lightly floured surface and shape. Place shaped dough in lightly oiled pan, flip over, and cover with a cloth damp with warm water.

*Allow to rise at room temperature for about 40 minutes then bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes. Cool 5 mins then place on a cooling rack to prevent soggy bread.

Rising at room temp. This is my washcloth labeled for bread making purposes only. Washing machine or no, I don’t like the idea of using dishcloths on food…

Since there is little kneading or handling of the dough, clean up takes about 30 seconds. My tiny family ate a whole loaf in less than 24 hours. Maybe not so good if you are counting carbs, but great considering there are no preservatives or questionable ingredients. I used it for hot dog buns, and in the morning I am making french toast. French toast is always better with thicker bread, but I am cutting my slices tonight so they get stale. That was my husband’s advice, he said you cannot make french toast without stale bread. We’ll see what I think in the morning :)

Just cut a thicker piece of bread from your loaf, and then slice it in half (dividing the top from the bottom) and cut a slit for the hot dog placement.

 

 

 

Any thoughts?

